My Story.

I am a 33 year old lupus warrior who has been fighting the fight now for almost 7 years. Its a long story but I’d love to give you the short version.

I was living my life in 2007,  at 26 years old, getting ready to celebrate my bday, in a relationship,  living together when I started having major swelling of random joints, painful migraines, extreme nausea and fluid filled knees. I was told by a doctor that it was all in my head until I lost my eyesight in my left eye.

I was rushed to the ER had 3 unsuccessful spinal taps, pumped full of numerous pain meds, iv fluids and so many tests I can’t count. I was hospitalized for 15 days and on day 4 I was told I had SLE Lupus, Optic Neuritis and Rheumatoid Arthritis. I didn’t think it could get much worse until I was told that I would have to undergo 8 rounds of Cytoxan chemotherapy and if I didnt I would only have a 32% chance of getting my eyesight back. I fought and pushed, there was no way I was going to do that at 26, but I had to bite the bullet, cut my hair and JUST DO IT!

It was the hardest decision I ever had to make. Knowing that this was going to be painful not only for myself but for my family, especially my amazing mother. She NEVER left my side, EVER, to this day she is the one that is here. Here when I am struggling, here to help me with anything that I need help with. Due to the seriousness of my Lupus I have underwent 5 surgeries in 2 years, have been hospitalized more times than I can count, had 4 PICC lines in my arms for IV antibiotics, have had home nursing, and have been on every single pain med and lupus med known to man. Life is definitely a struggle but I would not be the fighter that I have become if it wasn’t for this nasty disease, which, for those who do not know, is incurable.

My motto is I have fought like hell to get to this point and I will never stop fighting!!!

One thought on “My Story.

  1. Thank you for posting this, Shauna. I didn’t know any of the details about the lupus. I am sorry you have had to face this terrible disease but I am really really proud of your courage and your openness. Your experience and strength will help other people out there who are struggling with health problems such as lupus. You are amazing!

Leave a Reply

